ratings: Uncharted 2 + 3

My rating for 2009’s Uncharted 2 for PS3 is…

unch

★★★½

This game presented an adventure experience the caliber of which I had never experienced. Environments were terrific and characters were decent. The only negative is it doesn’t have much replay value. The story is super exciting the first time around, but once its over, the game loses a lot of its intrigue.

My rating for 2011’s Uncharted 3 for the PS3 is…

unch2

★★★½

If this game had been exactly as good as Uncharted 2, I would have dropped its rating. But, this installment hits hard providing even bolder adventures than its predecessor (and with much better weapon sounds). For that reason, it gets the same rating. Taking into account the inflation of player’s expectations, Uncharted 3 kept equal pace with it.

 

 

2 responses to “ratings: Uncharted 2 + 3

  1. 3.5 out of what 3.5? If it is out of 5 then I think you’ve been incredibly harsh. Does a game have to have great replay value to be considered great? If that were the case then COD games must be the greatest games ever. If you look at it in broader terms 3.5 is what a 70/100 (just above average). Both of these games are well above average and are also two of the top games of the generation (probably both in top 5) so I would put to you that 3.5 (I am assuming out of 5 although maybe you do rank them out of 3.5, who knows) is well too low for these games.

    • Yes, it is out of 5. My about page tells about my rating system. Sorry you don’t like my rating, but I stand by it. I actually thought 3.5 might be generous for this game! Don’t get me wrong, I love the Uncharteds. I cherished my copy of both of them. The games have some incredible moments, for sure! But I judge games as an art form, not just a gameplay experience. I also consider what long-term impact they are going to have on me. No, a game doesn’t have to have replay value to be great. But adventures like this are, for me, all based around the excitement of first playthrough. After completing it, I’d rather look forward to the next one than play it again (although I did play through each Uncharted at least three times). Finally, I like to save the highest ratings for games I consider to be truly special. So, don’t be offended my rating isn’t as high as you’d like, around 2.5 is when I consider games to be not good enough. And even then, they usually offer great aspects.

Leave a Reply

