rating: Mass Effect (each of the trilogy)

me

My rating for 2007’s Mass Effect for PC is…

★★★★½

Fantastic music and spacial atmosphere. Amazing story and great characters. I’ve played through it five times.

My rating for 2010’s Mass Effect 2 for PS3 is…

★★½

The game relied much more on combat – which I didn’t think was even fun. The environments are great, but the music is mostly orchestral, not really embracing the sci-fi-ness. And the story seems like a big detour from the overall plot that spans the entire trilogy. The saving grace was the “Shadow Broker DLC”.

My rating for 2012’s Mass Effect 3 for PS3 is…

★★★½

It redeemed a lot of what I liked about the first one. The environments are awesome, it has a great story with great character development, and better music. But, it was a still a lot more of a blockbuster than the original. Latched on to the “epic” appeal.

I have no beef with the way the story ended. I had a better ending in mind… but the one they came up with was decent.

Leave a Reply

