I’m still in a dream: Snake Eater

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is to an American-blockbuster-action flick as Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is to a slow-foreign-“official selection” from Cannes-drama… If you get what I’m trying to say. It is my favorite game of all time, and I just wanted to say a little bit about why: It’s art. It’s beautiful. It’s completely over-the-top creative when it comes to giving the gamer a new experience. And I love all the attention to detail – one could play through the whole story and only notice 5%  of the total content. Seriously! I played through it about four times. And I noticed something cool and new in just about every scene – every time. And the cinematics are… what’s the word… ridiculous? Brilliant? Completely unnecessary? Extravagant? Wordy? Beautiful? Yes, I believe all those apply.

If you like boss battles, Snake Eater is nearly flawless. Simply the most amazing ones I’ve ever experienced. Especially the sniper duel with “The End”. Play that and tell me this game isn’t the most innovative piece of artistry a console has ever seen. On top of that, the graphics are very good for the time, and the stealth action has always, for me, been an exciting game style.

If you haven’t given the series a chance, Snake Eater would be a good place to start. If you are thinking about replaying it, check out some of the eastereggs and follow through with them. There’s so much to see in this game!

Leave a Reply

